(In the fall of 2019 Alabama will become an “Affidavit Marriage” state, so I will be offering Alabama Covenant Marriage Ceremonies when that new marriage law goes into effect.)
MARRIAGE LICENSE INFORMATION
Requirements for Issuance Of Marriage Licenses
Marriage Licenses are issued Monday through Friday between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:45 p.m. The Marriage License Office is located on the first floor of the Mobile County Government Center Annex building (151 Government Street) which is located next to the Mobile County Government Plaza in Downtown Mobile, Alabama. If you plan to come in the afternoon, you should arrive no later than 4:30 p.m. as the licensing process takes about 15 minutes. You can expedite the issuing process by completing the Electronic Marriage License Application and submitting it before you arrive. Please note: Your submitted application will remain in a queue for 30 days. Once the 30 days expire, your application will be removed. You will need to resubmit another electronic application or fill out the appropriate paperwork in the Marriage License Section of the Mobile County Probate Court. The cost of the license is $74.00 payable by CASH, MONEY ORDER, or BANK CASHIER’S CHECK. The fee schedule breakdown is listed below. [01/01/16]
In Alabama, the legal age to marry without parental consent is 18 years. Persons aged 16 years and 17 years may obtain a marriage license if both parents are present with valid identification and they consent in writing. You must also bring a state certified copy of your birth certificate. A hospital certificate of your birth is not acceptable.
If you are 18 years of age or older, you must bring one of the following: valid driver’s license, military identification, or certified copy of your birth certificate. Regardless of age, you MUST provide valid proof of your Social Security number or submit a sworn affidavit to the fact that you have never been issued a Social Security number. Both parties must be present to be issued a license. Pre-marital blood tests are no longer required by the State of Alabama.
If you have been divorced, please be able to tell us the date and the court in which you obtained the divorce. You may not apply for a license within 60 days after your divorce was granted (the date of the written decree), unless you are marrying your former spouse.
A marriage license is valid for 30 days from the date it is issued and there is no required waiting period for marriage after the license is obtained. This license is only good for marriages performed in the State of Alabama.