II. Seven Churches

A. Introductory Vision: Christ in the midst of the seven golden lampstands (Revelation 1:9-20)

1. John on Patmos (Revelation 1:9-11)

2. Vision of Christ (Revelation 1:12-20)

B. The letters to the seven churches (Revelation 2:1 – 3:22)

1. Ephesus, the passionless church (Revelation 2:1-7)

2. Smyrna, the persecuted church (Revelation 2:8-11)

3. Pergamon, the tolerant church (Revelation 2:12-17)

4. Thyatira, the compromising church (Revelation 2:18-29)

5. Sardis, the dead church (Revelation 3:1-6)

6. Philadelphia, the missionary church (Revelation 3:7-13)

7. Laodicea, the arrogant church (Revelation 3:14-22)



The message of the seven churches is that the Lord is with the church, even as it spans the time from Christ’s ascension to His return and ministers in different locations. Revelation begins with the church scattered in different cities but ends with the church united in one city, the New Jerusalem.