III. Seven Seals

A. Introductory Vision: The Enthronement of the Lamb (Revelation 4:1 – 5:14)

1. General scene of worship (Revelation 4:1-11)

2. A heavenly crisis (Revelation 5:1-4)

3. Resolution of the crisis (Revelation 5:5-7)

4. Perpetual celebration of results (Revelation 5:8-14)

B. The opening of the seven seals (Revelation 6:1 – 8:1)

1. The white horse–victorious conquest (Revelation 6:1-2)

2. The red horse–war (Revelation 6:3-4)

3. The black horse–famine (Revelation 6:5-6)

4. The pale horse–pestilence (Revelation 6:7-8)

5. The cry of the martyrs (Revelation 6:9-11)

6. The final eschatological events, (Revelation 6:12 – 7:17)

a. The wicked and the wrath of the Lamb (Revelation 6:12-17)

b. The righteous: 144,000 sealed saints (Revelation 7:1-8)

c. An innumerable multitude (Revelation 7:9-17)

7. Silence in heaven (Revelation 8:1)



As the seals come off the scroll, likely the title deed to earth, we get glimpses of the historical experiences of the church in 6 periods of history from A.D. 34 to just before the return of Christ. The early church fathers understood these seals as an unfolding of church history, but those who hold to a pre-tribulation rapture see these seals as general judgments during a seven-year period of wrath.