IV. Seven Trumpets

A. Introductory Vision: A view of trumpets, the altar of incense and the end of intercession (Revelation 8:2-6)

B. The sounding of the seven trumpets (Revelation 8:7 – 11:18)

1. A plague falls to earth–hail and fire (Revelation 8:7)

2. A burning mountain sinks into the sea (Revelation 8:8-9)

3. A polluting star falls on the rivers and springs (Revelation 8:10-11)

4. A plague partially darkens the heavenly bodies (Revelation 8:12)

a. Announcement of three further woes (Revelation 8:13)

5. A scourge of darkness and locusts arises from the Abyss to attack unsealed humanity (Revelation 9:1-11)

a. Transition from first to second woe (Revelation 9:12)

6. Preparation for the eschatological battle (Revelation 9:13 – 11:13)

a. The wicked: Four angels at the Euphrates release an army of two hundred million horsemen to destroy a third of humanity (Revelation 9:13-21)

b. The righteous: The little book (Revelation 10:1-11) and the two witnesses (Revelation 11:1-13)

c. Transition from second to third woe (Revelation 11:14)

7. The mystery of God is finished (Revelation 10:7)

8. Christ claims His everlasting Kingdom (Revelation 11:15-18)



The seven trumpets are likely descriptions of judgment upon the earth and/or the foretelling of coming world events that will impact the church. The 7th trumpet is clearly the event of the Lord’s return and the first six trumpets may be symbolic of the Barbarian tribes from the north invading the Roman Empire, the European invasions of the Huns, the rise and conquests of Islam, and the fall of Constantinople by the Ottoman Turks, which was a massive blow for Christendom.